21 Andaman and Nicobar islands named after Param vir chakra Awardees

On Parakram Diwas, Prime Minister Narendra Modi named 21 unnamed Andaman and Nicobar islands after Param Vir Chakra Awardees.

Andaman and Nicobar islands

Andaman and Nicobar islands

On Parakram Diwas, Prime Minister Narendra renamed 21 unnamed Andaman and Nicobar islands in a ceremony. These islands are named after the Param Vir Chakra awardees of the country. Similarly in 2018 Ross islands, were renamed after Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose.Neil Island and Havelock Island were renamed Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep

Parakram Diwas was declared by the Government of India on 23 January to commemorate the birth anniversary of Netaji Shubhash Chandra Bose in 2021.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi wrote in his tweet “Today, on Parakram Diwas, I pay homage to Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose & recall his unparalleled contribution to India’s history. He will be remembered for his fierce resistance to colonial rule. We are working to realize his vision for India,”

Prime Minister Modi also inaugurated the model of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose’s memorial to be built on the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The proposed memorial will be built on Ross Island, which has been renamed Netaji Shubhas Chandra Bose Dweep in 2018. The memorial will have a museum, a laser and sound show, a cable car ropeway, a guided trail through historical buildings, and a theme-based amusement park for children, catering to government officials.

The list of 21 Param Vir Chakra Awardees

These 21 unnamed Andaman and Nicobar islands are named in such a way that the largest unnamed island is named after the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, similarly the second largest island is named after the second Param Vir Chakra awardee. And similarly the rest of the islands are named.

  1. Major Somnath Sharma
  2. Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM
  3. Second Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane
  4. Nayak Jadunath Singh
  5. Company Havildar Major Piru Singh
  6. Capt GS Salaria
  7. Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa
  8. Subedar Joginder Singh
  9. Major Shaitan Singh
  10. CQMH. Abdul Hamid
  11. Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore
  12. Lance Naik Albert Ekka
  13. Major Hoshiar Singh
  14. Seconnd Lt. Arun Khetrapal
  15. Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon
  16. Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran
  17. Naib Subedar Bana Singh
  18. Captain Vikram Batra
  19. Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey
  20. Subedar Major (then RifleMan) Sanjay Kumar; and
  21. Subedar Major Retd (Hony Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav.

Leave a Comment